Skip to content
Tags

Airline food makes me excited

by on May 31, 2008

steamed broccoli and button mushrooms, milkfish fillet, tuna chorizo, garlic rice, cheese omelette; cheese cupcake, melon & grape, dinner roll, unsalted butter and strawberry jam.

I am the only person I know who gets excited over eating airline food. It’s not that the food’s great or anything, it’s just the idea that man was never made to fly and eat full meals while in the sky, and yet here I am doing exactly that. The wonder of that stays with me to this day and will hopefully never let go. I feel the same way about microwaveable meals. It’s a meal in a box! What’s not to love?

Anyway I did a google search on airline meals and found this website where people review the food they eat in the air. I’m a little surprised and pleased that Philippine Airlines seems to be well regarded when it comes to the food department. This makes me all the more excited to finally board a Philippine Airlines jet again to go to Singapore for the 2nd annual games conference asia. Took advantage of their $98 sale, and ended up paying 9710 pesos. Still kind of steep. Basically you get the travel tax for free.

I was actually thinking of going via Malaysia airlines then taking a train to Singapore, which would have cost roughly 7000 pesos (ok more like 6500 but bear with me I’m trying to rationalize), but even my frugality and cheapness has its limits.

14 Comments
  1. i feel exactly the same way about eating airline food! it’s nice to know i’m not the only person who loves their meals and the fact that each of them always represent every part of the food pyramid. haha.

  2. Yeah actually, this stuff’s probably healthier than what I normally eat.

    I’m glad someone appreciates airline food too!

  3. I third you and Jill. I love airline food!

  4. We should start a club!

  5. I’ve loved the airline food “experience” for years now — friends can’t understand it. Sometimes you really do get a nice, tasty pasta dish with sunlight streaming onto your window seat, a nice book to read, and it all seems to come together.

  6. Starry permalink

    Count me in! I once asked for seconds! I know, shameless!

  7. Whee I agree! I love that sense of wonder when flying — I mean, when you eat airline food, you’re on a giant metal vehicle … in the sky! How awesome is that?!

  8. I absolutely love it when they serve the food covered with aluminum foil.
    Removing the foil and seeing a hot, steaming plate crammed with goodies is half the fun!

  9. I remember that I had the same kind of breakfast (from the picture above) on a PAL flight some 3 years ago πŸ™‚ I hope PAL revise their inflight menu more often as I already had the chicken longanisa 3x in different occasions.

    By the way Ryan, may I ask if your PAL ticket to Singapore already includes the 1,620 travel tax. I’m trying to book a flight by the end of the year and according to the “terms & conditions” the travel tax will be paid at the airport.

  10. Hi Carlo. If you make the purchase online it’s separate, but if you purchase it at the ticket office it’s included. πŸ™‚

  11. That makes sense. Thanks for enlightening me on this one πŸ™‚ PAL should include the travel tax on its online purchase or at least make an option to pay it when booking online. If other airlines like Malaysia Airlines or Singapore Airlines can do it why can’t PAL.

  12. I’m exciting too with airplane food!! πŸ™‚ Pasta o Pollo? Chicken?

    Interesting article! πŸ™‚

    Bye.

  13. oh wow, ryan that food looks really good! It’s been a while since I visited here. How are you!

    Did you go to the 7th Philippine toy convention? I got a post up on my blog. If you did go.. I was the one in the Mario costume πŸ˜€

    I totally agree with what you said on another post about URDUJA… Don’t worry it’s doing well.. The cinema I went to was jam-packed full of kids and their parents.. everyone was happy.

    http://martinaquino.wordpress.com

  14. Cheese permalink

    LOL I love this set! Always liked the ‘shrooms and the egg.

Leave a Reply

