Skip to content

Malaysia Airlines’ got some free seats for ya (May 21 – June 3)

by on May 27, 2008

Looks like even larger carriers like Malaysian Airlines are getting on the Zero fare bandwagon, as Malaysian Airlines is offering free seats to Kota Kinabalu and Kuala Lumpur.  Our friend Carlo from kegler747 scored roundtrip tickets for a measly 5314 pesos!  All things considered, that’s a pretty sweet deal, especially from a non-budget airline.

If we hadn’t already booked flights to KL and Kota Kinabalu with Air Asia I’d have bought tickets already.  I wouldn’t have to travel all the way to Clark to get on the plane, and I won’t have to fight for my seat with other passengers as well!  Booking is from May 21 to June 3 and good for flights between June to December 2008.

From → Foreign, Promos, Travel

3 Comments
  1. I think this is the most “worth it” of all the seat sale I ever grabbed as the P5,314 ticket already includes the P1,620 travel tax. My piso fare Iloilo ticket costs even more than my Malaysia Airlines ticket. I think its even cheaper than my P2,899 roundtrip ticket for KL via Air Asia 2 years considering the price of jet fuel nowadays.

    When will you go to KL and Kota Kinabalu? I can recommend you hotels in those 2 cities depending on which part of the city you fancy to stay.

  2. is the 1620 the travel tax you pay at NAIA? How can you prove that you already paid it? DOes it say so in the e-ticket?

    We’re going KL and Siem Reap in November and Kota Kinabalu in August. I’ve had myeyes set on trying out the budget-minded Tune hotels (by the same people who run Air Asia) so that we can tell people if it’s worth the money you save or not. 🙂

  3. Yup, when I booked the ticket it was stated in the breakdown of fares. I can’t believe it also so I even went to the Malaysia Airlines office here in Makati to confirm if I need to pay the travel tax at the airport, they said that it is already included in the ticket and even showed me the fare breakdown which states $38 as the PTA travel tax just like what I saw first online.

    What a coincidence, we are thinking the same thing… I booked Tune Hotels in KL as is was dirt cheap, I’ll update you in July if its worth it.

    You can still use Malaysia Airlines if you would like to go to Brunei in conjunction with your KK trip just like what I did a few years ago. There might be “free” seats left for KK-Brunei or KK-Labuan (an island very near Brunei).

Leave a Reply

