Skip to content

Hanoi interlude: Green Bean Cake aka hop-nut

by on May 4, 2008

As Aissa mentioned in the last post, I’m quite proud of my discovery of “green bean cake”. It’s not every day you make a food discovery, especially one that you can describe in such Filipino terms. Para siyang chocnut, pero lasang hopia! I managed to find a picture of the same product, though under a different brand name. Do yourself a favor and try it out if you find it in Hanoi. It’s ridiculously cheap (just like chocnut!) and guaranteed to tickle your taste buds!

On a side note, I had no idea “Oishi” meant “tastes good” in Japanese. I found this out when I gave some some hop-nut to a couple of Japanese tourists who were in our Halong Bay tour. And I thought it was just some made up Japanese sounding brand name.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Walking tour with Hanoi Flash « Wanderous

Leave a Reply

